Calendar Month View

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Planning Commission Meeting

Dorchester County Council adopted Ordinance 79-27 on December 17, 1979, creating a Planning Commission, which was amended with Ordinance 82-25.  The Commission is composed of Seven County residents appointed by the majority of County Council with one from each of the seven Council Districts.  Members serve four-year terms, coinciding with the County Council District Representative.

The Planning Commission is tasked with:

  • Preparing and periodically revising a Comprehensive Plan
  • Preparing zoning ordinances and/or resolutions, regulations for the subdivision of land and a Capitol Improvements Plan
  • Reviewing and making recommendations for revisions to the Zoning and Land Development Standards

Led by Chairman Ed Carter, the Planning Commission meets at 4:00 pm on the second Thursday of each month.  Meetings are held in the Summerville County Council Chambers located at 500 N. Main Street (use the Cedar St entrance).

View Planning Commission Meeting Agendas and Minutes