Dorchester County Declares a State of Emergency

Post Date:09/09/2018 12:00 PM

At 8:00 AM today, September 9, 2018, Dorchester County Council Chairman, Jay Byars issued a State of Emergency Declaration. 

The declaration authorizes the County Administrator and the Director of Emergency Management to issue all such orders, as deemed necessary, to protect life, health, and safety.   

Operating Condition 

The Dorchester County Emergency Operations Center (EOC) moved to Operating Condition (OPCON) 3 at 8:00 AM, today, Sunday, September 9, 2018, closely monitoring Tropical Storm Florence.

OPCON 3 means an emergency is likely, the EOC has partially activated and the Emergency Operations Plan has been fully activated.

Citizens Call Center

The Citizens Call Center (CCC) will open at 8:00 AM, tomorrow, Monday, September 9, 2018. Citizens can call the center with questions related to Hurricane Florence. The CCC phone numbers are (843) 832-0393 and (843) 563-0393.


Information on the locations and pick-up dates/times of sandbags will be forthcoming. Note: Sandbags will be limited to 10 bags per household.

Evacuation Zones

Dorchester County Hurricane Evacuation Zones have changed. Residents can locate their zone by visiting and/or by downloading the SC Emergency Manager mobile app.

Emergency Council Meeting

An Emergency Council Meeting has been scheduled for 6:30 PM tonight in the Summerville County Council Chambers located at 500 N. Main St. The Emergency Council consist of the Chairman of County Council and the Mayors (or their representative) from each municipality.  

Return to full list >>