Dorchester County at OPCON 2 Announces Office and School Closures

Post Date:09/10/2018 2:50 PM

The Dorchester County Emergency Operations Center (EOC) moved to Operating Condition (OPCON) 2 at 12:00 PM, today, Monday, September 10, 2018.

OPCON 2 means an emergency is imminent, the EOC is fully activated.

Evacuation Order

Governor Henry McMaster has ordered a mandatory evacuation of all hurricane evacuation zones at noon, tomorrow, Tuesday, September 11, 2018. This includes Evacuation Zones D, E and F in Dorchester County. Residents who live in these areas should begin preparing to evacuate. A full lane reversal on I-26 will take place at noon tomorrow, Tuesday, September 11, 2018. Individuals residing in mobile or manufactured homes should also evacuate or seek shelter in a hardened structure.

When the Governor orders a mandatory evacuation, it is required that everyone in the designated area leave. The mandatory evacuation order carries the force of state law. In addition, once you leave the area, the order prohibits you from returning until the Governor suspends the order and conditions are deemed safe. 

Office and School Closures

All Dorchester County Administrative Offices, Courts, Convenience Sites, the Dorchester County Library, the Dorchester County Career & Technology Center (DCC&TC) and all Dorchester School Districts Two (DD2) and Four (DD4) Schools will be closed on Tuesday, September 11, 2018 and will remain closed through Friday, September 14, 2018.

A decision on office and school closures on Monday will be made and announced at a later date. 

Special Primary Runoff Election

The Special Primary Runoff Election for Dorchester County Council District 1, that was scheduled for tomorrow, September 11, 2018 has been postponed. The Dorchester County Election Commission is working with the Governor’s office to reschedule the election for Tuesday, September 18, 2018.

Citizens Call Center

The Citizens Call Center (CCC) is open. Citizens can call the center with questions related to Hurricane Florence. The CCC phone numbers are (843) 832-0393 and (843) 563-0393.


The sandbag distribution sites at Gahagan Park, Dorchester County Fire Rescue Station 21 and Wescott Park in North Charleston still have a limited number of sandbags.

Sandbag distribution will begin at Harleyville Town Hall and the Hutto Ace Hardware in St. George at 5:00 PM, today.

Dorchester County Government staff and the Town of Summerville Public Work Department worked in tandem to fill and distribute 15,000 sandbags to Dorchester County residents.

Return to full list >>