Hurricane Dorian Press Releases

Dorchester County Declares a State of Emergency

Post Date:09/01/2019 9:00 PM

At 8:00 PM today, Sunday, September 1, 2019, Dorchester County Council Chairman, George Bailey issued a State of Emergency Declaration. The declaration authorizes the County Administrator and the Director of Emergency Management to issue all such orders, as deemed necessary, to protect life, health, and safety.  

Dorchester County will move to Operating Condition (OPCON) 1 at 8:00 AM, tomorrow, Monday, September 2. At that time the County Emergency Operations Center (EOC) and the Emergency Operations Plan will be fully-activated. County officials and staff will continue to participate in daily conference calls to remain up-to-date on the storm’s path and potential impacts.

The Citizens Call Center will open at 8: 00 AM tomorrow. That number is (843) 832-0393 or (843) 563-0393.

Evacuation Order for Zone D in Dorchester County

Governor Henry McMaster, has ordered the evacuation of coastal South Carolina residents for their personal safety as Hurricane Dorian approaches. The evacuation order includes Zone D in Dorchester County.

Zone D includes: All properties along the Ashley River between Ashley River Road and Dorchester Road, from the Charleston County line to Bacons Bridge Rd. Properties that front the Sawmill Branch from Dorchester Road to Luden Road including Arbor Oaks, Sawbranch Apartments, Millbrook Apartments, and Creekside. Properties near Eagle Creek between Ladson Road and Parlor Road from Dorchester Road to the Charleston County line. Southeast portions of the county in the vicinity of Bear Swamp, Horse Savannah Swamp, Fishburne Creek, and Rantowles Creek including the Poplar Grove Community. All residents living in flood-prone areas or mobile/manufactured homes.

Dorchester County Hurricane Evacuation Zones were updated in May 2018. Residents can locate their zone by visiting and/or by downloading the SC Emergency Manager mobile app.

County Offices and School Closures

Beginning Tuesday, September 3 all Dorchester County Offices, Dorchester School District Two and Four Schools and the Dorchester County Career & Technology Center will be closed until further notice.


Beginning at 10:00 AM on Tuesday, September 3, 2019 sandbags and sand will be available at the below locations. Citizens must bring their own shovel and fill their own bags. Note: Bags should only be filled 2/3 of the way full, to be effective. There will be a limit of 12 sandbags per household.

Gahagan Park
184 W. Boundary St.
Summerville, SC 29483

Oakbrook Middle School
286 Old Fort Dr.
Ladson, SC 29456

Dubose Middle School
1005 Dubose School Road
Summerville, SC 29483

Dorchester County Courthouse
5200 E. Jim Bilton Blvd.
St. George, SC 29477

Ridgeville Town Hall
105 School St.
Ridgeville, SC 29472

Harleyville Town Hall
122 W. Main St.
Harleyville, SC 29448

Return to full list >>