Planning Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Dorchester County Council adopted Ordinance 79-27 on December 17, 1979, creating a Planning Commission, which was amended, in 1982, with Ordinance 82-25.


The Commission meets at 4:00 PM on the second Thursday of each month.  Meetings are held in the Summerville County Council Chambers located at 500 N. Main Street (Cedar St. Entrance).

Duties & Responsibilities

  • Preparing and periodically revising a Comprehensive Plan
  • Preparing zoning ordinances and/or resolutions, regulations for the subdivision of land and a Capitol Improvements Plan
  • Reviewing and making recommendations for revisions to the Zoning and Land Development Standards

Commission Members

The Commission is composed of Seven County residents appointed by the majority of County Council with one from each of the seven Council Districts. Members serve four-year terms, coinciding with the County Council District Representative.

Commission Member  Appointed By Term Expires 
 Bert Judy  Council District 1  12/31/2021
 Mike Mercer  Council District 2  12/31/2022
 Ed Carter  Council District 3  12/31/2022
 Richard Symuleski, PE  Council District 4  12/31/2020
 Russ Touchberry  Council District 5  12/31/2021
 Robert Pratt  Council District 6  12/31/2020
Jennifer Kunda  Council District 7  12/31/2022

Helpful Links