Established in 1897, Dorchester County was formed from land previously located in Colleton County. The name “Dorchester” was indirectly derived from Dorchester, England by way of Dorchester, Massachusetts.

Dorchester County boasts award-winning school districts and one of the longest free-flowing blackwater rivers in North America. Dorchester County’s natural beauty and unwavering sense of community are what makes it the best county in South Carolina to build a business and raise a family.

Dorchester County is home to the:

  • City of North Charleston
  • Town of Summerville
  • Town of Ridgeville
  • Town of St. George (County Seat)
  • Town of Harleyville
  • Town of Reevesville
  • Town of Lincolnville
  • Communities of Dorchester, Grover, Ladson & Texas

Form of Government

Dorchester County operates under a Council-Administrator form of government and has over 800 full-time employees. A seven-member County Council is elected by district and provides policy direction to the County.

The County Administrator serves as County Council's agent in administrative matters. This position has oversight over all County government operations with the exceptions of departments governed by elected officials and special districts.

Mr. Jason L. Ward has served as the County Administrator since 2004. He is assisted by Ms. Rebecca Vance, Deputy County Administrator and Mr. Daniel Prentice, Chief Financial Officer.

Members of County Council

  • District 1: Mrs. Harriet Holman
  • District 2: Mr. David Chinnis
  • District 3: Mr. George Bailey
  • District 4: Mr. Larry Hargett
  • District 5: Eddie Crosby
  • District 6: William (Bill) Hearn Jr.  
  • District 7: Jay Byars