Parks & Recreation Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Dorchester County Council adopted Ordinance 11-03 on February 7, 2011, creating a Dorchester County Parks and Recreation Commission. Council adopted Ordinance 13-07 on May 6, 2013, amending the Commission structure.

The Commission makes recommendations to County Council regarding:


The Commission is composed of seven County residents and one at large member. Each member of County Council nominates one member, who is appointed by the majority of Council. Members serve four-year terms, coinciding with their County Council District Representative. The eighth member is a member of County Council appointed by a majority vote of that body.



Term Expires

Jay Byars, Chairman

County Council


Charles Brown 

District #1


Fred Skipper

District #2


John Welch

District #3


Rita May Ranck

District #4


Edward Tupper

District #5


Joe Debney

District #6


Mike Montei

District #7


Parks and Recreation Director, Eric Davis, serves as staff support to the Parks and Recreation Commission.


The Commission typically holds meetings on the fourth Tuesday of the Month with meeting locations in both St. George and Summerville on a rotating basis.

Meeting Minutes

The below minutes have been provided for the convenience of the public. For minutes from a previous year, not provided below, contact the Parks and Recreation Department.

2017 Meeting Minutes

Minutes from previous years

2016 Parks and Recreation Commission Minutes

2015 Parks and Recreation Commission Minutes

2014 Parks and Recreation Commission Minutes

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Flash Player QuickTime Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer