Rivers and Waterways Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

ThePondsLifestyle-3247On Monday, November 19, 2018, Dorchester County Council adopted Ordinance 18-21 creating the Dorchester County Rivers and Waterways Commission.

The seven-member commission makes recommendations to County Council that support recreational development and sustainable management of rivers and other county waterways.

Such recommendations may be related, but not limited to:

  • Allocation of funds for acquisition, development and/or maintenance of water recreation facilities and resources.
  • Allocation of funds for promotion of river recreation and tourism.
  • The development and adoption of plans to guide water recreation activities along county waterways.

Additionally, Commission members are charged with participating in programs and events designed to promote water recreation in the County, seeking outside financial support for projects, and partnering with neighboring jurisdictions and similar organizations to achieve common goals related to water recreation. 


The Commission is composed of seven County residents. Members serve two-year terms.


Term Expires

Julie Johnston

Bryson Jeffords


Lori Hollowell (Vice Chairman)


Daniel Burbage (Chairman) 2021
Brian Sparks


Natalie Tarpein


Michael Kohler (Secretary)


Parks and Recreation Director, Eric Davis, serves as staff support to the Rivers and Waterways Commission.



The Commission meets on the first Wednesday of the first month of the quarter unless the date conflicts with a holiday.  Additional meetings may be called as needed.  All meetings are currently scheduled for 6:00 PM in County Council Chambers in Summerville located at 500 N. Main St.

DCRWC 2020 Meeting Schedule