DCTA One Cent Transportation Sales Tax

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Due to voter approval of the one-cent sales tax, the Dorchester County Sales Tax Transportation Authority (DCTA) implemented a program for infrastructure improvement projects. The program is funded by $125 million from the one-cent sales tax and the remainder provided by the South Carolina Department of Transportation (SCDOT), the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA), private contributors, and other sources.

Led by Chairman Mike Murphree, the DCTA meets at 7:00 PM on the second Monday of each month, except in November when the Authority meets on Tuesday because of a state holiday. Meetings are held in Council Chambers, 500 N. Main Street, Summerville (use the Cedar St. entrance).

Projects include constructing new roadways, widening existing major thoroughfares, paving 260 miles of dirt roads, improving intersections, resurfacing streets, and repairing sidewalks. Look for signs stating "Your One-Cent Sales Tax at Work" displayed at project locations.

Completed Projects

  • US Route 78 & SC 27 Intersection
  • US Route 78 & Deming Way Intersection
  • Dorchester Road (SC 642)
  • US Route 178
  • US Route 15
  • Central Avenue (Road S-18-13)
  • Gahagan Road (Road S-18-339)
  • Resurface streets in the Town of Harleyville
  • Sidewalk construction in the Town of Harleyville
  • Resurface streets in the Town of Ridgeville
  • Sidewalk construction in the Town of Ridgeville
  • Resurface streets in the Town of St. George
  • Old Fort Drive (S-18-662)
  • Intersection Improvements at Bosch Plant
  • Industrial Road (S-18-194)
  • Clubhouse Road (S-18-84)
  • SC Route 453
  • American LaFrance to Wescott
  • Patriots Boulevard
  • Lincoln Boulevard
  • Indigo Fields Subdivision
  • Bacons Bridge Road (SC Route 165)
  • Old Orangeburg Road (S-18-22)
  • US Route 78 & S-22 Intersection
  • Wallace Ackerman Drive
  • Cone Lane
  • Charlie Lane
  • Dubois Road
  • Mattie Lane
  • Monarch Drive
  • Mose Circle
  • Old Spell Road
  • Sojourner Lane
  • Woodwin Circle
  • Community Road

State and County Dirt Roads that have been paved

  • Summer Road
  • Winding Woods Road
  • Yerby Road
  • Salem Road
  • Summer Place Road
  • Johnson Road
  • Lucille Road
  • Raye Road
  • Deerwood Road
  • Twins Lane
  • Connelly Farm Road
  • Mount Pisgah Road
  • Ancrum Lane
  • Haven Road
  • Indigo Road
  • Hill Branch Road
  • Dantzler Road
  • Pearle Lane
  • Flood Heirs Road
  • McMarkin Drive
  • Neighborhood Drive
  • Old Beech Hill Road
  • Sandpit Road
  • Seven Acres Road
  • Springbranch Road
  • Wrong Way Road